Man of Steel

The Man of Steel Award is presented to the men’s player of the year.

In 2014, the award was renamed after former England player Steve Prescott, after a petition with over 12,000 signatures was sent to the Rugby Football League, calling for the award to be renamed in Prescott’s honour.

The voting has recently changed to a system similar to the Australian Dally M Medal, with points being awarded to the best performing players after each game (three points for the man of the match, two points for the runner-up, and one point for the third-best player).

Winners List

Season Winner Club
2022 Brodie Croft Salford Red Devils
2021 Sam Tomkins Catalans Dragons
2020 Paul McShane Castleford Tigers
2019 Jackson Hastings Salford Red Devils
2018 Ben Barba St Helens
2017 Luke Gale Castleford Tigers
2016 Danny Houghton Hull FC
2015 Zak Hardaker Leeds Rhinos
2014 Daryl Clark Castleford Tigers
2013 Danny Brough Huddersfield Giants
2012 Sam Tomkins Wigan Warriors
2011 Rangi Chase Castleford Tigers
2010 Pat Richards Wigan Warriors
2009 Brett Hodgson Huddersfield Giants
2008 James Graham St Helens
2007 James Roby St Helens
2006 Paul Wellens St Helens
2005 Jamie Lyon St Helens
2004 Andy Farrell Wigan Warriors
2003 Jamie Peacock Bradford Bulls
2002 Paul Sculthorpe St Helens
2001 Paul Sculthorpe St Helens
2000 Sean Long St Helens
1999 Adrian Vowles Castleford Tigers
1998 Iestyn Harris Leeds Rhinos
1997 James Lowes Bradford Bulls
1996 Andy Farrell Wigan Warriors
1995 Denis Betts Wigan
1994 Jonathan Davies Warrington
1993 Andy Platt Wigan
1992 Dean Bell Wigan
1991 Garry Schofield Leeds
1990 Shaun Edwards Wigan
1989 Ellery Hanley Wigan
1988 Martin Offiah Widnes
1987 Ellery Hanley Wigan
1986 Gavin Miller Hull KR
1985 Ellery Hanley Bradford
1984 Joe Lydon Widnes
1983 Allan Agar Featherstone
1982 Mick Morgan Carlisle
1981 Ken Kelly Warrington
1980 George Fairburn Wigan
1979 Doug Laughton Widnes
1978 George Nicholls St Helens
1977 David Ward Leeds